Farther
SEC-registered investment adviser in San Francisco, CaliforniaRegistered since 2019
Figures as filed with the SEC on 24 August 2026. Checked against the SEC's public record on 17 September 2026.
Farther Finance Advisors, LLC is a San Francisco-based, SEC-registered investment adviser reporting $16.01B in regulatory assets in its August 2026 Form ADV. Its brochure lists Negotiable up to 2.00% a year in advisory fees.
Assets and clients#
| Client type | Clients | Regulatory AUM | Share | Avg. per client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Individuals (other than HNW) | 11,130 | $3,705,949,607 | 23.1% | $333K |
| High-net-worth individuals | 3,463 | $10,481,260,950 | 65.5% | $3.03M |
| Pension and profit-sharing plans | 250 | $501,822,931 | 3.1% | $2.01M |
| Charitable organizations | 23 | $24,825,059 | 0.2% | $1.08M |
| Corporations and other businesses | 99 | $1,296,253,605 | 8.1% | $13.1M |
| Total | 14,965 | $16,010,112,152 | 100% | $1.07M |
- Regulatory AUM
- $3,705,949,607
- Share
- 23.1%
- Avg. per client
- $333K
- Regulatory AUM
- $10,481,260,950
- Share
- 65.5%
- Avg. per client
- $3.03M
- Regulatory AUM
- $501,822,931
- Share
- 3.1%
- Avg. per client
- $2.01M
- Regulatory AUM
- $24,825,059
- Share
- 0.2%
- Avg. per client
- $1.08M
- Regulatory AUM
- $1,296,253,605
- Share
- 8.1%
- Avg. per client
- $13.1M
Discretion
- Discretionary
- $15,994,013,819 across 44,352 accounts (99.9% of AUM)
- Non-discretionary
- $16,098,333 across 69 accounts (0.1%)
- Wrap fee program
- $15,525,537,145 in a wrap fee program the firm both sponsors and manages
- Non-U.S. clients
- 0% of clients
- Non-AUM advisory clients
- 450 clients received advice without assets under management last fiscal year
Form ADV Part 1A, Items 5.D and 5.F. Fiscal year ends December; amendment filed 24 August 2026. View Item 5 in the filing
Reported holdings#
| Largest positions | Value | Share |
|---|---|---|
| ISHARES CORE S&P 500 ETFETF | $684,446,781 | 5.3% |
| VANGUARD S&P 500 ETFETF | $374,660,609 | 2.9% |
| APPLE INC COMStock | $311,062,348 | 2.4% |
| NVIDIA CORPORATION COMStock | $269,036,224 | 2.1% |
| DIMENSIONAL INTERNATIONAL VALUE ETFETF | $254,599,184 | 2.0% |
- Share
- 5.3%
- Share
- 2.9%
- Share
- 2.4%
- Share
- 2.1%
- Share
- 2.0%
Form 13F lists long positions in exchange-traded securities over which the filer had investment discretion, valued at quarter end. It excludes cash, bonds held outside 13(f) securities, private funds, and assets the firm does not have discretion over, so the $12.81B reported here is not the firm's $16.01B in regulatory assets, and no client's portfolio looks like this table.
Form 13F-HR for the quarter ended 30 June 2026, filed 17 July 2026. View the filing on EDGAR
Fees#
| Service | How it is charged | Stated range |
|---|---|---|
| Farther Advisors Wrap Program | A single annual program fee covers advisory services, trade execution, custody, reporting, account maintenance, and investment-management fees. It is generally charged monthly in advance; some legacy arrangements are quarterly in advance or arrears. | Negotiable up to 2.00% a year |
| Hourly or flat-fee advisory services | Farther may elect to charge an hourly rate or a flat annual fee. | Negotiable up to $1,000 an hour; flat annual fee not stated |
| Retirement plan consulting | Fee for services to self-directed retirement-plan sponsors. | Negotiable up to 2.00% of plan assets a year |
- How it is charged
- A single annual program fee covers advisory services, trade execution, custody, reporting, account maintenance, and investment-management fees. It is generally charged monthly in advance; some legacy arrangements are quarterly in advance or arrears.
- How it is charged
- Farther may elect to charge an hourly rate or a flat annual fee.
- How it is charged
- Fee for services to self-directed retirement-plan sponsors.
Billing and additional expenses
The brochure states that fees may be deducted from the client account. The wrap fee excludes, among other items, charges for trades executed away from the custodian, transfer taxes, exchange fees, interest, and certain retirement-account maintenance fees.
Account minimum
The reviewed brochure does not state a minimum relationship size.
Form ADV Part 2A brochure, Item 5, dated 30 March 2026. View Item 5 in the brochure
Custodians#
| Custodian | Location | SMA assets held | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Financial Services LLC | Boston, MA | $5,579,000,000 | 34.8% |
| Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. | Westlake, TX | $8,690,000,000 | 54.3% |
| All other custodians | — | $1,741,112,152 | 10.9% |
- Location
- Boston, MA
- Share
- 34.8%
- Location
- Westlake, TX
- Share
- 54.3%
- Location
- —
- Share
- 10.9%
The brochure also names Apex Clearing Corporation, Fidelity Investments, Pershing LLC as custodians the firm may recommend. National Financial Services and Charles Schwab each reported that they are not a related person of the firm.
Custody of client assets
The brochure says Charles Schwab, Apex Clearing, Fidelity Investments, and/or Pershing generally serve as custodians for program accounts, and that Farther may use other custodians in some circumstances. The two custodians listed above are the only ones reported in Schedule D as holding at least 10% of separately managed-account assets.
Schedule D, Section 5.K.(3) lists every custodian holding 10% or more of separately managed account assets. View Section 5.K.(3) in the filing
Leadership and ownership#
| Name | Title | CRD |
|---|---|---|
| Joseph Taylor Matthews | Managing Member | 6077030 |
| Bradley Philip Genser | Chief Technology Officer | 6372409 |
| Christopher Cother Powers | Chief Compliance Officer | 1682585 |
| Olivia Vaccaro Fournier | Head of Client Services | 6578391 |
| Lindsey Michelle Hill | CX Team Lead | 7264716 |
| Jacolby Deangelo Crow | CX Team Lead | 8161530 |
| Alex Seth Paul | Director, Advisor Investment Strategy | 6435641 |
| David Kilin | CFO | 4550182 |
| Michael Landon Stratton | Client Operations Lead | 6216035 |
| Regina Gonzales | Senior Manager, Client Experience | 2198149 |
Thor Christopher Gould | Managing Director, RIA | 6453683 |
Bryan C Dalessandro | Managing Director, RIA | 5081148 |
Jeffery Kernodle | Managing Director, RIA | 2948482 |
| Timothy Allen Bohnett | Managing Director, RIA | 5862012 |
| Lindsey Addison Harmon | Director, Advisor Experience | 6768760 |
| Daniel Leonardo Cuevas | Senior Manager, Client Transitions | 2645996 |
| Stephanie Nicole Kobty | Client Transitions | 6791775 |
| Demi Christine Martin | Senior Compliance Associate | 7882469 |
| John Arthur Barragan | Executive in Residence - Client Experience & Operations | 2941942 |
- Title
- Managing Member
- Title
- Chief Technology Officer
- Title
- Chief Compliance Officer
- Title
- Head of Client Services
- Title
- CX Team Lead
- Title
- CX Team Lead
- Title
- Director, Advisor Investment Strategy
- Title
- CFO
- Title
- Client Operations Lead
- Title
- Senior Manager, Client Experience
Thor Christopher Gould6453683- Title
- Managing Director, RIA
Bryan C Dalessandro5081148- Title
- Managing Director, RIA
Jeffery Kernodle2948482- Title
- Managing Director, RIA
- Title
- Managing Director, RIA
- Title
- Director, Advisor Experience
- Title
- Senior Manager, Client Transitions
- Title
- Client Transitions
- Title
- Senior Compliance Associate
- Title
- Executive in Residence - Client Experience & Operations
Ownership chain
- Direct owner
- Farther Finance, Inc. holds the 75% or more ownership band in the adviser.
- Indirect owners
- Joseph Taylor Matthews is reported as co-founder and chief executive officer of Farther Finance, Inc.; Bradley Philip Genser is reported as co-founder. Schedule B records their status as control persons, rather than an ownership percentage band.
Schedules A and B. Ownership percentages are the SEC's reporting bands, not exact figures. View Schedule A in the filing
Offices and registrations#
- Branch offices
- 340 reported to IAPD; Part 1A lists 5 office addresses in at least 5 states
- SEC registration
- Approved 19 July 2019, file number 801-116721
- State notice filings
- 51 jurisdictions, most recently District of Columbia, 11 January 2024
- Advisory staff
- 252 of 571 employees perform advisory functions; 0 are also broker-dealer registered representatives and 128 are licensed insurance agents
- Promoters
- 5 outside firms or persons solicit clients on the firm's behalf
Offices by state
- California1
- Florida1
- Missouri1
- New York1
- Pennsylvania1
Other business names
Farther has reported 10 other business names to the SEC in Item 1.B. Its brochure states that advisory services are provided by Farther Finance Advisors, LLC in every case, and that some names are used by its advisors for marketing.
- Bellingham Capital Management
- C.H. Douglas & Gray Wealth Management
- Crooked Tree Capital Advisors
- Fortress Wealth Management, Inc.
- Guild Investment Management
- MTP Private Wealth
- North Sister Wealth
- OneSource Wealth Management Powered by Farther
- Pleasant Street Wealth
- SignalPoint Asset Management
Headquartered at 345 California Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94104. Organized as a Delaware limited liability company. View Section 1.F in the filing
Other business and affiliations#
- Other business and affiliations
- The brochure identifies an affiliated investment adviser, Farther Asset Management, LLC, an affiliated insurance agency, and representatives who may recommend insurance products on a commission basis.
- Private funds
- The brochure identifies Farther Select Access Fund I, LP and Farther Select Access Fund II, LP as affiliated private investment funds that may be recommended on a non-discretionary basis to qualified clients.
This directory does not report disciplinary history, for any firm or individual, in either direction. The SEC publishes the complete record, including any disciplinary events, and it is the authoritative place to check one. See this firm's record on adviserinfo.sec.gov
Form ADV Part 1A, Items 6 and 7, and Schedule D. View Item 6 in the filing
Common questions#
How much does Farther charge?
Farther’s brochure states that its wrap-program fee is negotiable up to 2.00% a year. It may also charge up to $1,000 an hour or a flat annual fee, and retirement-plan consulting is negotiable up to 2.00% of plan assets a year.
Source: Part 2A brochure, Item 4 (Services, Fees and Compensation)
Is there a Farther account minimum?
The reviewed Part 2A brochure does not state a minimum relationship size. It says the firm may charge a lower investment-management fee based on factors including assets managed, related accounts, and negotiations with the client.
Source: Part 2A brochure, Item 5 (Account Requirements and Types of Clients)
Where are Farther client assets held?
Farther states that Schwab, Apex, Fidelity, and/or Pershing generally serve as custodians for program accounts. Its Form ADV separately reports National Financial Services and Charles Schwab as custodians each holding at least 10% of separately managed-account assets.
Source: Part 2A brochure, Item 4; Schedule D, Section 5.K.(3)
Does Farther earn commissions?
The brochure states that Farther and/or its representatives may recommend insurance products on a commission basis. Form ADV reports 128 employees licensed as insurance agents and no employees registered as broker-dealer representatives.
Who owns Farther?
Schedule A reports Farther Finance, Inc. as the direct owner in the 75% or more band. Schedule B names Joseph Taylor Matthews as its co-founder and chief executive officer and Bradley Philip Genser as co-founder.
Answered from the filings above.
Sources
- Form ADV Part 1A, amendment filed 24 August 2026. Items 1, 5, 9, 11 and Schedules A, B and D.
- Form ADV Part 2A brochure, dated 30 March 2026. Items 4, 5, 7, 12 and 15.
- IAPD firm record, CRD 302050, compiled 25 August 2026.
Retrieved 17 September 2026. All three are published by the SEC and may have been amended since. The logo is reproduced for identification from Farther, website.
Report a correctionThis profile is compiled from public regulatory filings and is provided for informational purposes only. Simple Money is not affiliated with Farther Finance Advisors, LLC and makes no representation about the quality of its services. Figures reflect the filing dates shown and may have changed. Ownership percentages are the bands reported to the SEC, not exact figures.